A Wilson Times Co. publication · Serving Southern Nash County Since 1947

Mudcats’ streak ends as they drop series finale Sunday at Fayetteville

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


FAYETTEVILLE — The Carolina Mudcats’ winning streak came to a crashing halt with an 11-0 loss to the Fayetteville Woodpeckers in the Single-A Carolina League series finale at Segra Stadium.

The Mudcats (26-17), who had won three in a row, were held to one hit and struck out 16 times by the Fayetteville pitching duo of starter Yohan Ramirez and Hunter Martin. Ramirez (1-2) allowed only a lead-off single by Wes Rogers in the the top of the third inning. He struck out 11 and walked one. Martin fanned five and allowed no hits or bases on balls.

Scott Manea and Jonathan Arauz each had three hits and two RBIs for the Woodpeckers (20-23). 

Matt Smith (1-4) took the loss for Carolina.

Carolina won Saturday’s game 6-4 as starting pitcher Nelson Hernandez went five innings to earn his fifth win against one loss. 

Payton Henry’s three-run home run in the third inning — his sixth of the year — opened the scoring. Devin Hairston delivered an RBI single in the top of the fourth until the Woodpeckers tied the score with four runs in the bottom of the inning.

But Carolina loaded the bases in the fifth before Mario Feliciano and Pat McInerney hit sacrifice flies for the go-ahead runs.

Starter Chad Donato (3-5) took the loss for Fayetteville.

The Mudcats start an eight-game homestand Monday night against the Lynchburg Hillcats at Five County Stadium.