A Wilson Times Co. publication · Serving Southern Nash County Since 1947

Incumbents prevail in Nash’s local races; Biden edges Trump by 49 votes

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Incumbents kept their seats in local Nash County races.

Republican county Commissioner Sue Leggett received 5,241 votes, or 66.8%, to handily defeat Democratic challenger Morris Roberson, who received 2,605 votes (33.2%).

“Thank you, everyone, for your support,” Leggett said. “I am so grateful for the opportunity to continue to serve. Representing Nash County is an honor that I take seriously. I look forward to many great things in Nash County.”

Leggett, a working mother, said she listens to constituents and represents the values of a growing, rural and vibrant county.

Only one Nash County Board of Education member faced a challenger this election year. 

Incumbent Doneva Chavis earned 2,536 votes (57.38%) to defeat Roy G. Garner, who had 1,853 votes (41.92%). There were 31 write-in votes. All ballot tallies are unofficial until a vote canvass this week.

The remaining school board incumbents  — Chairman Franklin Lamm, Bill Sharpe, Ricky Jenkins, Evelyn Bulluck and Sharonda Bulluck — ran unopposed. 

The board appointed Bulluck to finish former Vice Chairwoman Ann Edge’s term after her death in April. 

Running unopposed, Nash County Register of Deeds Anne Melvin, a Democrat, received 100% of the 6,351 votes cast for that office. 


In national and state races, Nash County voters followed suit on the country’s vote for president, but bucked winning trends for U.S. Senate and House seats.

President-elect Joe Biden, a Democrat, received 49 more votes than Republican President Donald Trump in Nash County.

Of the total ballots cast in Nash County, Biden received 25,702 or 49.58%, to Trump’s 25,653 or 49.49%. 

Third-party candidates received less than 1% of Nash votes. Libertarian Jo Jorgensen earned 278 votes (0.54%); Green Party hopeful Howie Hawkins received 73 votes (0.14%); Constitution Party candidate Don Blankenship received 55 votes (0.11%); and write-ins received 76 votes (0.15%).

Biden received 3,514 votes on Election Day, 18,516 early votes and 3,672 votes by mail. Trump received 5,320 votes on Election Day, 18,615 early votes and 1,718 votes by mail.

Trump received most of his votes in southern Nash County while Biden racked up winning ballots in Rocky Mount and Whitakers.

U.S. Senate hopeful Cal Cunningham carried Nash County with 49% of the vote, but lost statewide to Sen. Thom Tillis, who had nearly 48% of the vote in Nash County. Across the state, Tillis won 48.72% of the vote to Cunningham’s 46.95%.

Challenger Sandy Smith, a Republican, received 50.67% of Nash County votes to 49.33% captured by U.S. Rep. G.K. Butterfield. The incumbent retained his seat, winning the 1st Congressional District overall with 54.14% of the vote to Smith’s 45.86%.

Nash County saw a record-breaking 75.71% voter turnout.