A Wilson Times Co. publication · Serving Southern Nash County Since 1947

Incumbents fare well in southern Nash County municipal elections

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Six office holders in Bailey and Middlesex will serve another term, while one newcomer has been elected in Spring Hope, according to unofficial election results.

A canvass to make the vote tallies official will be conducted next week, said Nash County Elections Director John Kearney.

“I thought the turnout was a little low in Middlesex and Spring Hope with each having competition,” Kearney said.

In total, Nash County had a 24.65% voter turnout with 9,337 ballots cast out of 37,872 registered voters.


Running unopposed, Bailey Mayor Thomas Richards was elected to his first full term. Richards received 67 votes or 79.76%. There were 17 write-in votes or 20.24%.

“I just plan to continue our revitalization of Main Street, to keep trying to get the sewer moratorium lifted and continue serving the citizens of Bailey,” Richards said.

Ervin Dewayne Powell, Joel Killion and Allen Daniels retained their seats on the Bailey Town Board of Commissioners.

Powell received 81 votes or 30.34%. Killion received 64 votes or 23.97%, and Daniels received 55 votes or 20.60%.

Killion said he will continue working with Bailey Police Chief Steve Boraski and his team to enhance the town’s police department.

“I will continue working with the mayor and board on getting Bailey off the sewer moratorium, on updating the sewer infrastructure and on beautifying the town of Bailey,” Killion said.

Former mayor Timothy C. Johnson and his father, Craig Johnson, came in fourth and fifth place with

Timothy Johnson receiving 33 votes or 12.36% and Craig Johnson 32 or 11.99%. There were two write-in votes or 0.75%.

The former mayor wouldn’t comment on whether he thought having two Johnsons in the race split a possible winning vote.

“Why does it matter? The victors have won, and there is no need in beating a dead horse,” the younger Johnson said. “The people who cast votes made their decision of who they wanted in office. Now it is time for them to be held accountable for their decisions that they bring on the citizens of Bailey.”


In Middlesex, Commissioners J.W. McClenny, Danny Alford and Cherrye High Davis won reelection. McClenny received 54 votes or 25.12%, Alford received 44 votes or 20.47%, Davis received 40 votes or 18.60%.

Challengers Brenda West and William Ward lost with 37 votes or 17.21% and 31 votes or 14.42%, respectively. There were nine write-in votes or 4.19%.

West said it’s tough to think about what’s next, and she’s asked herself about it several times.

“I’m considering running again, but for now I’m going to keep the ‘for what’ to myself,” West said.


In Spring Hope, Commissioner Brenda Lucas, the town’s top vote-getter, received 106 votes or 47.11%. Newcomer Prudence Wilkins received 64 votes or 28.44%, and Commissioner Nancy Walker received 55 votes or 24.44%.

Prudence Wilkins, the one newcomer to win election in southern Nash County, is set to serve her first term in Spring Hope.

Wilkins said she plans to work on bridging the gap between the town and the community. She said she’ll continue to be out and about in the community to understand the needs of the people who live and work in Spring Hope.

“It’s important to me to have an inclusive community where all people feel they are a part of this community and their opinions do matter with the town leadership,” Wilkins said.

Lucas said she thanks all of her supporters.

“I plan to support growth, togetherness, cleanliness, and I’m determined to speak out for the betterment of the people to make this town a better place to live for the young as well as our senior citizens,” Lucas said. “I want this town to be a place to draw people and a place for our young people to stay or come back home. Without growth a town will perish.”