A Wilson Times Co. publication · Serving Southern Nash County Since 1947

Early voting starts Thursday

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Nash County residents will have three locations to chose from during one-stop early voting, which begins Thursday.

Early voters can cast their ballots at the Nash County Ag Center at 1006 Eastern Ave. in Nashville, Mount Pleasant Community Building at 7637 Harris Road, Bailey, and the Braswell Memorial Library at 727 N. Grace St., Rocky Mount.

Early voting hours are 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Mondays through Fridays. Polls will also be open from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on two Saturdays, Feb. 22 and Feb. 29.

The registration deadline to vote on Election Day has passed. Voters can still register and vote during the early voting period.

Voters will not be required to show photo identification for the primary election due to a December court order.

A full slate of races will appear on ballots.

Republican, Democratic, Libertarian, Constitution Party and Green Party candidates fill out the field for the presidential race.

In the U.S. Senate race, Republican incumbent Sen. Thom Tillis faces primary challenges from Paul Wright, Larry Holmquist and Sharon Hudson, while Senate Democratic primary candidates include Erica D. Smith, Steve Swenson, Cal Cunningham, Trevor M. Fuller and Atul Goel.

In the U.S. House of Representatives race for District 1, Democratic incumbent Rep. G.K. Butterfield has no challengers, but Republican candidates Sandy Smith, Ethan Baca and Michele Nix will vie for the opportunity to challenge Butterfield. Republican candidate Jim Glisson has announced he will not continue to run in the primary, though he will still be on the ballot.

Gov. Roy Cooper will face a challenge in the Democratic primary from Earnest Reeves, while on the Republican ballot for governor, Dan Forest and Holly Grange will compete to run in November.

In the N.C. Senate District 11 race, Albert Pacer faces Allen Hewitt Wellons in the Democratic primary and Lisa Barns, Patrick Harris and Dennis Nelsen face each other in the Republican primary.

In the N.C. House of Representatives District 25 race, Republicans John Check and Steve Allen Matthews will face off to see who will run against incumbent Democratic state Rep. James Gailliard.

Other races on the ballot include lieutenant governor, attorney general, state auditor, commissioner of insurance, commissioner of labor, secretary of state, superintendent of public instruction, state treasurer and state agriculture commissioner.