A Wilson Times Co. publication · Serving Southern Nash County Since 1947

8 Louisburg players advance to 4-year schools

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


LOUISBURG — Louisburg College head football coach Trevor Highfield has announced the commitment of eight student-athletes to continue their education and football careers at four year schools.

“These men have worked hard both on the field and in the classroom to set themselves apart,” Highfield said of his players. “It is great that they are getting recognized for that and being given the opportunity to continue their educations while playing football.”

Ivoree Atkinson will be attending Johnson C. Smith in the fall on a football scholarship, as will Jared Eure at Winston Salem State.

Brian Smith will continue on from Louisburg to East Carolina University this fall.

Jeremiah Bolling-Farrar signed with Wagner during the NCAA early signing period in December.

These sophomores are all on track to graduate this spring with their associate degrees.

Devante Davis (Hampton), Stanley Davis (Towson) and Paul Sherrill (Kiser) are already enrolled at their four-year schools for the spring 2019 semester and will be participating in spring practice in their new programs.

The Hurricanes finished 2018 with a 6-3 record and have a record of 22-3 over the last three seasons combined.